Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Library: 6-8

Greetings! Here is a collection of resources for Middle School students. It includes GMA subscriptions to eBooks, databases, and more, as well as free educational and interactive websites. Please email me if you have any questions.

Thanks! Mrs.Phiambolis

Search the Catalog

Click Here to search the Library Catalog and find a great book!

Country Reports

Research-worthy Websites

 

 

undefined

 

CountryReports provides over 35,000 pages of online content on the cultures and countries of the world. You will be automatically logged in when you click the above link.
 
 
undefined
 
TeachingBooks net is an online database that can be used by teachers, students, librarians, and families to explore kid's books and young adult literature and their authors.
 
 
 
undefined
 
On History.com, you can watch full episodes of your History channel series, and dive into thousands of historical articles and videos. 
*Articles on this cite include complete MLA citations!

Audible

With Audible, kids everywhere can instantly stream an incredible collection of stories, including titles across six different languages, that will help them continue dreaming, learning, and just being kids.

All stories are free to stream on your desktop, laptop, phone or tablet.

databases

GMA Subscription Databases

 

undefined

SIRS Discoverer is a multidisciplinary database specifically designed for middle school learners, researchers, and educators covering curriculum areas such as, history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology.

 

Username: PL1310

Password: 19477

 

 

 

POWER Teens provides online resources including full-text research e-resources, collections of photographs and documents, the statewide catalog of materials held in libraries throughout Pennsylvania, and Chat with a Librarian.

*To access these databases, you will need a public library card. If you don't have one, you can quickly sign up for one- just follow the directions provided when you click on the link above.

 

Fun sites

Checkout these awesome sites for hours of fun activities devoted to your favorite books!

 

 

 On Harry Potter at Home: Bringing Hogwarts to You, you’ll find articles, puzzles, games and videos, all related to the magical wizarding world.

undefined

Jarrett Lerner, the author behind Enginerds has created some cool worksheets that will be updated every few days to keep you entertained and engaged!

eBook Resources

EBooks and Audiobooks

Mackin Via provides hundreds of eBooks and digital Audiobooks for grades k-8. Log in using the following credentials:

School:  [not required]

User ID: gmaelem

Password: gmaelem

Fun, Kid Friendly Podcasts

Podcasts can be a great alternative to screen time! Here is Common Sense Media's list of The 25 Best Podcasts for Kids.

 

Here are a few of my personal favorites!

 

undefined

 

The Unexplainable Disappearance of Mars Patel is an award-winning scripted mystery series that has been called a Stranger Things for kids. With a voice cast of actual middle schoolers, a gripping, suspenseful plot, and interactive tie-ins, this story about an boy searching for his missing friends will keep you hooked to the speakers for hours.

 

 

Wow in the World is a podcast for curious kids and their grown ups that leads listeners on a journey away from their screens, inside their brain, out into space, and deep into the coolest new stories in science, technology, & innovation.